How do you like your eggs in the morning?

I go to bed dreaming of breakfast and wake up ready to eat it. Famale is an advocate of the double breakfast. Lunch is confusing and inconvenient. But breakfast? Breakfast is an expression of love, depending on who you’re cooking for. I don’t just settle for toast or my new/old favourite Sugar Puffs, I get cooking. Some recipes, like love letters or old photos are too difficult to revisit. My little breakfast bars haven’t surfaced in my kitchen for more than four years. But I felt it was about time to face up to the things you think you don’t want to do. I found a great box of ‘exotic’ muesli for under £2 in Aldi which at 500g, is perfect for today’s recipe. As I was munching my way through a bowl of said muesli and yoghurt, I had a realisation that it could be made into my delicious breakfast bars with one simple addition – a tin of Mother’s milk otherwise known as condensed milk. Buying all the individual ingredients costs a fortune so this nutty, seedy mix is a real find. Like Proust and his madelines, eating the first bar out of the oven took me right back to a certain flat at a certain time and made me a bit sad. But like madelines, these bars are a classic so it’s been worth the wait.

20120331-120507.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment